November 23, 2015 League 1 Ontario--2015 Coaches of the Year (from League 1 Ontario press release)

2015 Coaches Of The Year
. Mon Nov 23 
Written By: Staff, League1  

League1 Ontario is proud to announce the winners of the 2015 Coaches of the Year awards: Vaughan Azzurri men's 
head coach Carmine Isacco, and Durham United F.C's women's head coach Tony La Ferrerra.

After taking the Azzurri to a second place finish in League1 Ontario's 2014 inaugural year, as well as winning 
the 2014 L1 Cup, Isacco followed up in 2015 by taking the Azzurri to third place in the men's standings after 
giving up only three losses in 22 matches. Only the title winning Oakville Blue Devils had as few losses over 
the campaign. At +33, Vaughan also had the second best goal difference in the league after the Devils.  

After numerous changes to the successful 2014 squad, Isacco brought through a new generation of talented young 
players in 2015, including League1 first and second team all-stars Joey Cicchillo, Kamal Miller 
and Mario Kovacevic. 

Although claiming his coach of the year award for the men's section, it is noteworthy that Isacco concurrently 
helmed the 2015 Vaughan women's side, leading the team to a third place finish. 

In the women's section, League1 Ontario champions Durham United F.C. had a fantastic season, winning all but 
two matches and racking up an incredible +61 goal difference in 18 matches after scoring 69 goals, and only 
giving up eight.

Head coach Tony La Ferrerra assembled a talented and hard-working squad of players, many of whom are 
development products of the Pickering, Oshawa, and Durham area.

A staggering six of the first 11 end-of-season all-stars were selected from Durham, with goalscoring phenomenon 
Alexandria LaMontagne, goalkeeper extraordinaire Nora Abolins, sibling duo and defensive stalwarts Kayla 
and Briana De Souza, and midfielders Hollie Babut and Geneva Winterink leading the way for the champions.   

In the latter part of the season, La Ferrerra smoothly blended an exciting new generation of players into 
the Durham squad without dropping points in the standings - just one of many examples of managerial skill 
and vision over the course of the 2015 campaign.

Congratulations to Carmine Isacco and Tony La Ferrerra, League1 Ontario 2015 Coaches of the Year!! 

back to 2015 League 1 Ontario Men's index