CPSL: Five Teams Bid for Rogers Cup
by Winnipeg Fury


Wild Card decider kicks off CPSL Championship
Club Roma, the home of the St. Catharines Roma Wolves, is the site of a three-day playoff series this weekend for the Rogers Cup and the championship of the Canadian Professional Soccer League.

No less than five clubs have qualified for the playoff series that gets underway this Friday, October 12 when the Roma Wolves clash with Montreal Dynamites in a one-game decider for a spot in the semi-finals the following day. The top three teams in the 12-team CPSL automatically advance to the semi-finals, but if the host team fails to capture one of the top four playoff berths, it has one last chance to make the semi-finals in a one-game knockout with the fourth place finisher.

That one-game knockout comes on Friday.

The winner will advance to play Ottawa Wizards, the first place finisher in the standings, in one of the semi-finals, while in the other semi-final encounter second place Toronto Olympians will meet third place Toronto Supra.

The Rogers Cup Final follows a Consolation Final on Sunday.

Toronto Olympians and St. Catharines Roma Wolves have been members of the CPSL since the league launched in 1998, while Ottawa Wizards and Toronto Supra are in their inaugural year as expansion teams when this Ontario-Quebec pro-loop took a leap from eight to 12 teams for this year's May 25 kickoff. The CPSL has set its sights on expansion to other regions of Canada in the next three years.

First-year Wizards astounded the soccer community by winning the OZ Optics League Cup on September 30 and providing an encore by capturing the league title in its final regular season game on October 7. These wins were especially impressive given the earlier dominance of the CPSL by Toronto Olympians, winner of seven of the nine trophies up for grabs in the first three years of competition.

"Back to CPSL menu">